privacy
support

2008

Master Reading – A “quick look” reference of what I read for the year.  Also noted is my personal goal and the percentage of Harlequin books I’ve read.

Year in Review – a piece of madness subtitled “2008: The Epic Romance Suspense Fantasy”.

End of Year Wrap Up – A few thoughts and statistics.

2008 Top Ten – Where I finally figured out which book was my favorite.

Completed Challenges

What: Series Challenge – 2nd Season — Completed!
When: 1 June – 30 November 2008
Who: Kathrin (Crazy Cozy Murders)
Rules (Copied from her website): There is no set number of books you have to read, you just have to read the books so that you are all up-to-date with the series. In other words, try to catch-up on as many series as you think you can during the time frame given. This is a good companion to the 1st in a Series Challenge hosted by Joy.

Series Challenge Season 2 Wrap-Up

~~ & ~~

What: Readers Imbibing Peril (RIP) III Challenge — COMPLETED !!
When: 1 September – 31 October 2008
Who: Carl (Stainless Steel Droppings)
Post reviews at R.I.P.ing Yarns.

2008 R.I.P. III Challenge Wrap-Up

~~ & ~~

What: A Ghostly Challenge — COMPLETED!
When: 1 September – 31 October 2008
Who: Callista (SMS Book Reviews)
Rules: Copied from A Ghostly Challenge’s site: For this challenge, you have from September 1 to October 31 to read 2 books that feature ghosts or are otherwise ghostly. Use your discretion.

2008 A Ghostly Challenge Wrap-Up

~~ & ~~

What: The Harlequin/Silhouette Reading Challenge – Completed!!
When: 1 June – 31 December 2008
Who: Yvonne (The Harlequin/Silhouette Reading Challenge)
Rules: Read 5 Harlequin and/or Silhouette books by December 31, 2008.

2008 Harlequin/Silhouette Reading Challenge Wrap-Up

~~ & ~~

What: Romance Reading Challenge
When: 1 January – 31 December 2008 — COMPLETED !!
Who: Naida (the bookworm)
Rules: At least 5 Romance novels, to be read at your own pace, throughout the year. No restriction on the sub-genre. See Naida’s site for more.

2008 Romance Reading Challenge Wrap-Up

~~ & ~~

What: The Pub 2008 Challenge
When: 1 January – 31 December 2008 — COMPLETED !!
Who: Michelle (3M)
Rules: Read at least 8 books, first published in 2008, by the end of the year. No children/Young Adult books, at least four must be fiction, and the list can change at anytime. Given the requirements, it is not necessary to have a firm list to sign up. See the Challenge site.

2008 “Pub” Challenge Wrap-Up Post.

~~ & ~~

What: Themed Reading Challenge — COMPLETED !!
When: 1 January – 30 June 2008
Who: Wendy (caribousmom)
Rules: Four books in six months. The theme is of your own choosing. Go here for details.
Note: The idea for a theme just fell in my lap, in a way, when I was looking at possible alternates for the other challenges.

Themed Reading Wrap-Up post.

~~ & ~~

What: Reading My Name Challenge — COMPLETED !!
When: 1 February – 1 May 2008
Who: Callista (SMS Book Reviews)
Rules: Read at least 2 books written by an author, or feature a main character, with your name, be it your first, middle, last, nickname, or online name. Variations are also acceptable. For example, my name is Christina: Christine, Christie, Chris, Kristina, Cristina, etc. See the challenge site for details.

Reading My Name Wrap-up post.

~~ & ~~

Incomplete Challenges

What: Back to History Challenge
When: 1 January – 31 December 2008
Who: Shannon
Rules: Read 12 historical books. Can be historical fiction as well as memoirs and biographies. See Shannon’s site.

Back to History Wrap-Up Post

~~ & ~~

What: TBR Challenge
When: 1 January – 31 December 2008
Who: MizB
Rules: Read 12 books, that have been on your to be read pile for 6 months or more, by the end of the year. See the challenge site.

TBR Challenge Wrap-Up Post

~~ & ~~

What: “What’s In a Name?” Reading Challenge
When: 1 January – 31 December 2008
Who: Annie (words by Annie)
Rules: Read six books, one from each of the categories, with a certain type of word in the title.

What’s in a Name Wrap-Up Post

~~ & ~~

What: 1st in Series Challenge
When: 1 January – 31 December 2008
Who: Joy (Thoughts of Joy)
Rules: Read 12 books, that are the first book in a series, by the end of the year.

1st in a Series Wrap-Up Post

~~ & ~~

What: A~Z Reading Challenge
When: 1 January – 31 December 2008
Who: Joy (Thoughts of Joy)
Rules: Read a to z author and a to z book title. Joy set up a separate site for the challenge here. I tracked my progress on a separate page.

A to Z Challenge Wrap-Up Post

information

Comments

2008 — 20 Comments

  1. Welcome to the 1st in a Series Challenge! I’m not familiar with any of your choices. I look forward to finding out what they are about through your reviews. Happy Reading!

  2. Naida — Thanks! I tried to pick books that weren’t all one type.

    Joy — Most are from Harlequin or Silhouette lines, which will be good for my numbers if I participate in next year’s reader challenge at eHarlequin.com.

    …And I just noticed I left off an author’s name (Beau Brummel). (I had to edit this. It annoyed me :-D)

    Christina

  3. I commute to work. It’s not as long as some people’s, nor is it as long as it use to be. Current average is 50+ books a year, which is about a book a week.

  4. Thanks! I wish it could be more. I have an out-of-control TBR pile and like shopping for books. 😀

  5. I have that same pile at my house…it grows way faster than I can get to it. I love to go to the book store anytime I have a spare hour and just wander the isles.

  6. Me too! I love going to Barnes & Noble and wander. And I constantly look to see what Amazon recommends for me. Granted, it doesn’t change from day-to-day…but you never know! 😀 I’m thinking about joining two more challenges. Gotta see if I can put more of a dent in the pile. Ha!

  7. Christina – Welcome to the challenge! I am really enjoying seeing the themes people are picking – yours is great 🙂

    Wendy

  8. Hooray! I’m glad you joined the A ~ Z Reading Challenge, too! 🙂 It will be fun plugging our reads onto the lists.

    BTW ~ I like the light snow falling. Very cool.

  9. Pingback: 2008 Themed Reading Challenge

  10. Thanks for joining the Harlequin/Silhouette reading challenge. It sounds like you have some good books on the list to read. Have fun!