copyright

2013 Christmas Spirit Reading Challenge

homecareers
rss

christmas spirit 2013

What: 2013 Christmas Spirit Reading Challenge
When: 22 November 2013 – 6 January 2014
WhoMichelle (The Christmas Spirit)
Rules: Decide on a level and read the required number of Christmas-themed books. For details and to sign up, go here.

~~ & ~~

Image courtesy of Salvatore Vuono / FreeDigitalPhotos.net

Image courtesy of Salvatore Vuono / FreeDigitalPhotos.net

Level: Christmas Tree: read 5 or 6 books

  • A Sprinkling of Christmas Magic: Christmas Cinderella\Finding Forever at Christmas\The Captain’s Christmas Angel (E. Rolls, B. Scott, M. McPhee) (Harlequin Historical Anthology)
  • Mistletoe Wishes: The Billionaire’s Christmas Gift\One Christmas Night in Venice\Snowbound with the Millionaire (C. Mortimer, J. Porter, C. George) (Harlequin Anthology)
  • What She Wants For Christmas (Janice Kay Johnson)
  • A Christmas Bride (Mary Balogh)
  • Christmas Beau (Mary Balogh)
  • The Billionaire’s Christmas Baby (Victoria James)

~~ & ~~

support

Winter Reading List: December 2013 – February 2014

copyrighthomecareers

I still have a few weeks left to read books for the Fall Reading List, but I want to post this early, just in case I can’t get to it during Thanksgiving weekend.

The Fall list was an experiment and I wasn’t sure how it would turn out.  The verdict so far?  I really like it.  In fact, I’ve already created the Spring list.  There will be fourteen prompts for the Winter and Spring lists, but I will be re-evaluating my method of picking prompts for the Summer list.  The deck of index cards based on Goodreads shelves has reached its limit of usefulness.

What’s (specifically) on my to-read list for Winter?  Why holiday books, of course!  I look forward to participating in Christmas reading challenges.  I haven’t decided on what books to read yet — hopefully they will also work for the Winter list. :)

Also, Daughters of England books.  Yes, I’m still behind.  It looks like I’ll be extending the challenge out to 2015 after all.

I will create a page for this list under “2014″ and link it in the sidebar the first week of December.

~~ & ~~

Some rules I established for myself:

  • Each book can only be counted toward one prompt.
  • Each prompt can only be used once during the season.
  • If all 14 prompts are used before the end of the season, new prompts will not be added.

The prompts:

  1. Read a book by an author who’s first name is Jennifer
  2. Read a book labeled Fantasy (urban fantasy allowed)
  3. Read a book labeled Sci-Fi Romance
  4. Read a book from the Star Wars Expanded Universe
  5. Read a book with a weapon on the cover or in the title (lightsabers count)
  6. Read a book with a four-letter word in the title (i.e., kiss, love, snow)
  7. Read a book by an author who’s first or last name begins with the letter R
  8. Read a book with a time of day in the title (i.e., noon, night, dawn, midnight)
  9. Read a book with a woman on the cover (1 person only, but other objects allowed)
  10. Read a book first published in 2011
  11. 1st in a Series: Mystery
  12. Read a book with an animal on the cover (can be mythical)
  13. Favorite Series
  14. Read a book by an author who’s first or last name starts with a T

The Daughters of England Winter Reading list (subject to change)

  • The Love Child – if not read by 30 Nov
  • The Song of the Siren
  • Will You Love Me in September? (A.K.A. The Drop of the Dice)
  • The Adulteress

~~ & ~~

rss

Monthly Update – October 2013

copyrighthomecareers

October
Drama over at Goodreads and the Government shutdown threw me off my reading “grove”. Though I read countless “pages” of news articles and comments in various topic threads, none of it counted as “books”. I completed only three novels in the month of October.  My attempt to get back into Read-a-thons also totally failed.

I did not post any reviews here, but I’ve been working on the Booklikes blog I’ve set up in response to the drama on Goodread.  I’m sticking around at GR for the groups.  I’ve deleted my “To Read” list, but I’m maintaining the “Read” shelf for the reading challenges.  In January, I plan to unsubscribe from some of the groups, particularly those I’m least active in.  If they have a Booklikes sister group, I’ll check them out there.  The groups I have already decided to stay with as long as the exist: Serious Overload of Series (SOS), Romance Readers Reading Challenges (RRRC), and the Seasonal Reading Challenge (SRC).

Despite the drama, I did reach a milestone during the month of October.  As of 31 October, my total pages read is 20,381.  I’m not sure I’ll reach 25,000 by the end of the year.  One milestone I know I’ll reach is “number of books read”.  Since GR makes it difficult to count re-reads, my “total books read” is different than the GR Reading Challenge (also contributing to the difference — individual short stories from anthologies).  According to the GR counter, as of 8 November, I need 3 more books to reach my goal of 70 books.  However, by my personal count, I needed to read 1 book during November to reach that goal — and I’ve already done that.

Challenge-wise, the books I read in October did not put a big dent in any of them.  One book didn’t even count toward anything other than GR-based challenges.  And I’m still not caught up with the Philippa Carr challenge.  Fortunately, that’s a personal one, and I can adjust as needed…meaning it’s going to extend into 2015 if I don’t double-up soon.

Books Read

  • The Prophet (Stevens, Amanda) (5 Oct 13) – 4 stars – none
  • Darkness Rises (Duvall, Dianne) (10 Oct 13) – 5 stars – Baker’s Dozen
  • Eye of Heaven (Liu, Marjorie M.) {3/2011} (27 Oct 13) – 4 stars – Mt. TBR

Reviews added this month.

  • NONE


Challenges Completed this month:
NONE

Incomplete (Ended in October)
NONE

2013 Challenges:
A Baker’s Dozen (personal) – 27/39
Cruising’ thru the Cozies – 9/12
E-book Challenge – 18/25
Mt TBR – 27/48
Quick Fix – 29/30
Sequel Reading – 11/12
Seriously Series – 9/12
Vintage Mystery – 4/8

2013-2014 Challenges:
Daughters of England (personal) – 5/19

~~ & ~~
Georgette Heyer (Month): 0
Georgette Heyer (Year): 2
Grand Total since 2008: 7
~~ & ~~
In Death (Month): 0
In Death (Year): 0
Grand Total since 2010: 3

Totals (Monthly/Yearly)

Total Read (Month): 3
Total Heard (Month): 0
Grand Total (Year): 69
~~ & ~~
Total Audio Hours(Month): 0
Total Audio Hours (Year): 0
~~ & ~~
Total Pages Read (Month): 1,136
Grand Total (Year): 20,381

support

Dewey and Wonderfully Wicked Read-a-Thons

copyrighthome

I’m late signing up for these. I’m not going to track number of hours this time. Also, I’m not sure when I’ll post updates.

read-a-thon2
(Note: I’m listing this first, even though the Wonderfully Wicked Read-a-thon starts on the 11th, because it is only 1 day)
What: Dewey’s 24 Hour Read-a-thon
Who: Dewey’s 24 Hour Read-a-thon
When: 12 October 2013

~ & ~

wonderfullywickedRAT2-228x300

What: Wonderfully Wicked Read-a-thon II
Who: My Shelf Confessions
When: 11 – 20 October 2013
Goals: 3 Books; 900 pages

~ & ~

Note: Due to the excessive amount of spam, I’ve added a password plugin. Please don’t let that discourage you from commenting.
careers
rss

Monthly Update – September 2013

supportcopyrighthome

September

Off to an excellent start with the Seasonal Reading Challenge at Goodreads. I manage 11 books and 175 points. I just need 210 more point to beat my personal best of 380.

And speaking of seasonal. . .I created a tracking page for the Seasonal Reading List here. I haven’t decided if I will update it weakly, monthly, or something in between.  I’m off to a great start with this, too: 8 of the 14 prompts, and 1 of the 4 Daughters of England books.

In September, I got back into doing read-a-thons, which helped me have a good reading month.  The wrap-up post for the Tackle Your TBR Read-a-thon is here.  I also created a tracker for read-a-thons.

Also in September, I started using the Ultimate Book Blogger plug-in.  So far, I’m loving it!  It came in handy for the Spotlight On posts, too.  At this time, I have no plan to re-do older reviews.

I completed the Historical Fiction Challenge and I still haven’t done the wrap-up post for Romance Reading yet.  I’m close to finishing two more challenges — Quick Fix and Sequels.  There is a good chance I will complete them well before the end of October, so I’ll wrap up all four in one post.  And, as stated in the previous update, I removed the Off the Wall Challenge from my list below.

Looking Ahead — I scrapped my plans for a 2014 Reading Has Its Rewards Challenge.  I wasn’t satisfied with how it was coming together.  I still want to do one personal challenge (besides the Daughters of England) and I want it to be simple and one I might actually complete by the end of the year!

Books Read

  • My Fair Concubine (Lin, Jeannie) (4 Sep 13) – 5 stars – Historical Fiction, Quick Fix
  • Death in the Stocks (Heyer, Georgette) (5 Sep 13) – 3 stars – Vintage, Heyer, Mt. TBR, Baker’s Dozen
  • A Deadly Grind (Hamilton, Victoria) (6 Sep 13) – 4 stars – Cozy, Quick Fix
  • Lament for a Lost Lover (Carr, Philippa) (11 Sep 13) – 4 stars – Ebook, Daughters of England, Mt. TBR
  • After the Funeral (Christie, Agatha) (13 Sep 13) – 4 stars – Ebook, Quick Fix
  • A Touch of Midnight (Adrian, Lara) (16 Sep 13) – 4 stars – Seriously Series, Quick Fix, Baker’s Dozen
  • Ice Blue (Stuart, Anne) (17 Sep 13) – 5 stars – Mt TBR
  • Love at First Flight (Force, Marie) (18 Sep 13) – 5 stars – Mt. TBR
  • Books Can Be Deceiving (McKinlay, Jenn) (19 Sep 13) – 3 stars – Quick Fix, Cozy
  • Midnight Reckoning (Castle, Kendra Leigh) (22 Sep 13) – 5 stars – Sequels
  • Blue Forever (Bruhns, Nina) (29 Sep 13) – 4 stars – Quick Fix, Baker’s Dozen

Reviews added this month.


Challenges Completed this month:
Historical Fiction – 15/15

Incomplete (Ended in September)
NONE

2013 Challenges:
A Baker’s Dozen (personal) – 26/39
Cruising’ thru the Cozies – 9/12
E-book Challenge – 18/25
Mt TBR – 26/48
Quick Fix  – 29/30
Sequel Reading – 11/12
Seriously Series – 9/12
Vintage Mystery – 4/8

2013-2014 Challenges:
Daughters of England (personal) – 5/19

~~ & ~~
Georgette Heyer (Month): 1
Georgette Heyer (Year): 2
Grand Total since 2008: 7
~~ & ~~
In Death (Month): 0
In Death (Year): 0
Grand Total since 2010: 3

Totals (Monthly/Yearly)

Total Read (Month): 11
Total Heard (Month): 0
Grand Total (Year): 66
~~ & ~~
Total Audio Hours(Month): 0
Total Audio Hours (Year): 0
~~ & ~~
Total Pages Read (Month): 3,356
Grand Total (Year): 19,245

Note: Due to the excessive amount of spam, I’ve added a password plugin. Please don’t let that discourage you from commenting.